Week One

So it begins, the weekly process of writing for my paper. Week one begins with learning all about social media. Social media comes in various different platforms, for example, facebook, twitter, snapchat, YouTube and instagram just to name a few. Social media is a perfect way to expand your business by placing advertisements everywhere, it is a good way to connect with people from all over the world, there used to be pen pals, now there is social media. Social Media for me means a way to connect with my friends and family that aren’t around me, or live close to me, another meaning for me is that it helps me to connect with friends that I have made over the years through these certain social media platforms. Social Media is a great way to get your business out for people to see, it is a great way to expand it. Given the examples of Facebook etc, using each of these platforms with advertisements will help reach the demographic the company is aiming for.

Social Media Platforms:

Facebook:

This is probably one of the most universal and popular social media platforms, I have used it since 2009, but it was first created in 2004. As it has been running for over 10 years it has made a huge impact that majority of the world uses it, as of the end of 2016 it had 1.86 billion monthly users. This platform is good for me as I use it everyday to keep in contact with family members who have moved and friends I have made over the years who don’t live near me.

Twitter:

Twitter is another big network for people, I have used it since 2010, it is a great way for people to connect with others all around the world based on common interests they have or same opinions. Twitter was founded in 2006, and by the end of 2016 it averaged 319 million monthly users. Twitter helps me to create connections with people based on the same interests.

Instagram:

Instagram is a social media platform that is all about pictures, I have used instagram since about 2011, it is mostly popular among teenagers to young adults. it was founded in 2010, and by the end of 2016 it had around 600 million monthly users. I use this everyday, it is a place for me to store my memories and also to share them with others who are interested.

Snapchat:

Snapchat is all about being able to send photos and videos, up to 10 seconds, and having them erased after the recipient has opened them. I use snapchat multiple times a day, it helps me to have quick conversations with friends, and also helps to pass time with the silly filters.  Snapchat was founded in 2011, it has about 150 million active daily users.

YouTube:

YouTube is a video platform, it has provided many people with full time work, as ‘creators’. YouTube was founded in 2005, it has over 30 million active users daily. I use YouTube multiple times a day, whether it be for research or entertainment, it gives me an opportunity to see what it  new and how others live their lives.

 

Please leave some comments, let me know anything I can improve on, Cheers,

Cecile.

Leave a Reply

